



Constitution of the User Needs Committee

Class	Constituency	Member	Notes
i	Chairman, appointed by the ISC from amongst its membership	Dr Rachael Padman	
ii	Two members appointed by the ISC as representative of the constituency of IT users across the University and Colleges	Prof. lan Leslie	For six months
		Prof. Graham Virgo	
iii	Two members appointed by the ISC to provide specialist insight, knowledge or experience relevant to the provision of exemplary IT services, usability design or communications	Dr Alan Blackwell	
		Mr John Norman	
iv	Two members of UIS staff nominated by the Director of the UIS	Dr Martin Bellamy	
		Mr Chris Edwards	
V	One student representative co-opted by the Committee		
vi	Up to three additional members co- opted by the Committee		



User Needs Committee

In light of the discussion and recommendations of the ISC on the paper proposing the establishment of a User Board, at its meeting on the 9 October 2014, and following further consultation by the UIS with Professor Ian Leslie and Dr Rachael Padman, it is proposed that the 'User Forum' be established as the **User Needs Committee**, a sub-committee of the ISC.

A revised set of Terms of Reference for this new committee is attached to this paper. The ISC also asked for suggestions of possible candidates that might initially sit on this committee, and the following are suggested:

Class (i) – Dr Rachael Padman

Class (ii) - Prof. Ian Leslie (for six months), Prof. Graham Virgo

Class (iii) - Dr Alan Blackwell, Mr John Norman

Class (iv) - Dr Martin Bellamy, Mr Chris Edwards

M.C. Bellamy S. Kearsey November 2014